The MBDH hosts the Midwest Carpentries Community (MCC) in partnership with the University of Wisconsin-Madison to provide a venue for region-wide capacity building of data science skills through The Carpentries organization. The MCC brings together Carpentries instructors and others interested in hands-on data science skill development for various audiences (including students, early-career researchers, faculty, and practitioners) across academia, government agencies, nonprofits, and industry.

The MCC holds monthly community calls, and has a Slack community for ongoing engagement.

Upcoming calls:
July 26th – noon ET / 11 a.m. CT / 10 a.m. MT
Fall 2021 activity check-in – What are your local communities planning for the upcoming semester? Workshops? Other community-building activities? Lesson development? Do you have opportunities to collaborate with others?

Aug 30th – noon ET / 11 a.m. CT / 10 a.m. MT
The Carpentries at non-R1 Institutions РWhat are the unique needs for hands-on skill development at predominantly undergraduate institutions (PUIs), including community colleges, minority-serving institutions (MSIs), and Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs)? We welcome new participation from PUI instructors who are interested in developing data science curricula at their institutions.